GREEN UTOPIAS REVISITED

Back in the Spring of 1993, I attended a weekend workshop led by Jonathon Porritt on the theme of “Green Utopias” held at Dartington Hall (1) in Devon, whose genius loci seemed ideally suited to the subject. Although the workshop fell rather short of “Ecotopia”, something of  this spirit stayed with me for another year or so, and I went to Findhorn (2) in Scotland in the Autumn of 1994 to attend a “World Work” Conference (3)

Perhaps signalling the end of  “salad days”, my green utopian phase, at least intellectually, seems to have biodegraded  in the mid-1990s,  but I realise now that it has been a long-standing background – and sometimes foreground – theme in both my personal and professional development. I intend, therefore, to explore once again the theme of green and other utopias, in an age now widely regarded as almost wholly dystopian, in this and my other blogs.

1 www.dartington.org   2 www.findhorn.org  3 www.processwork.org

Leave a comment